Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened :)

Hey guys!!

Here’s my 3rd ds106 assignment!! It’s my second assignment with an image but please bare with me…I love using images!! πŸ˜€

The assignment I chose this time is a visual assignment again and it’s called “Image with a Message“. Well, here are the directions!!

Are you looking for an engaging computer-related activity or project for your students? Regardless of the grade or subject area in which you teach, I think I have an idea that you will find both stimulating as well as educationally relevant.

It is said that “a picture is worth a thousand words”. Your challenge is to enhance a famous quotation by superimposing it on an appropriate “Creative Commons” licensed image and to give proper credit.

Detailed lesson steps, together with supporting web sites, samples, and activity handouts are available on by blog at: http://life-long-learners.com/image-with-a-message/

Take care & keep smiling πŸ™‚

The Process:

First, I went to google to look for a quote to use for this assignment. I found a nice site with many different kinds of quotes and I chose Dr. Seuss’

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

Then I went to flickr to look for an image that goes well with this quote. Since I wanted something that seemed innocent and cute, I chose this image:

Close Up by LeMast - CC Licensed via Flickr

Then, like I did last time, I went to PicnikΒ to do the editing. I chose Picnik again because I wanted to try it out on my own this time.

I uploaded the picture and put an effect on the picture. This time, I chose Orton-ish.

When I saw this effect on the image, I really liked it but the brightness. Therefore, I chose to bring the brightness up to 75%.

That looks a lot better, doesn’t it?? πŸ™‚

Moving on to the quotation…

First, I thought of putting the whole quotation at the bottom in one line. However, when I did that, it looked really boring. Therefore, I split the sentence up to “Don’t cry because it’s over,” and “smile because it happened.” When I put the word on to the image, the white didn’t work so well with the text and the image. Since the word “it’s over” is in the sentence, I thought of coloring the text dark purple because that represented the sad image of the text.

Then the second part of the sentence, “smile because it happened.”, since there’s the word “smile” in the sentence, I instantly thought of the color yellow; just because its a bright and fun color. Also, since I thought the last part of the sentence was the most important amongst the two parts, I made it bigger than the first half.

The Story:

By doing this assignment, it allowed me to challenge myself by using a new photo editing site on my own. Also, I had fun going through flickr and looking for the perfect image for this assignment.

Well, here’s the finished product πŸ™‚

This entry was published on January 29, 2012 at 8:11 am. It’s filed under ds106 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened :)

  1. I think the picture and the quote match quite well! ! I totally love the image:)

  2. reiby826 on said:

    i liked how you used picnik! great photo editing website! GOOD WORK πŸ˜‰ KEEP IT UP GUUUUUUUUURL!

  3. AWESOME “Image with a picture” assignment! As the creator of this assignment I want to thank you for taking the time to demonstrate your creativity. However, I want to also stress how important it is for innovative individuals, like you, to share the details and steps you went through to improve the picture and try new editing tools like Picnik. As an educator, I appreciate so much when individuals share their thinking and approaches to solving problems. You … have excelled in this regard!

    Thanks for caring & sharing.

    Take care & keep smiling πŸ™‚ Brian

  4. I can’t say it any better than Brian did. The assignment itself is a great one. I’ve not tried it yet but am looking forward to the challenge.

    You’ve done a splendid job of creating a powerful and compelling work here. And your tutorial is very helpful.

  5. Hi .. I do not want to dampen your enthusiasm but I had requested in this assignment to use a Creative Commons-licensed picture from Flickr. Perhaps your photo was shared through Flickr but I see no reference to its source address. I suggested that participants select a Creative Commons image because, as an educator, I want students to properly cite their sources. I realize that a URL at the bottom of a photo may be somewhat distracting but it is a visual reminder to always record your image source when downloading for possible later credit.

    I share this constructive feedback for your consideration.

    Take care & keep smiling πŸ™‚ Brian

Leave a Reply

