Cosmonaut

Hey guys! 🙂

Here’s my second ds106 assignment!! ♪

The Assignment:

This assignment is a visual assignment and I chose this assignment because I wanted to play around with images. So, here are the directions he gave me!! 🙂

So here’s something fun for everyone to do, should be quick and easy, but try to make it pretty. First, go here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Random The title of the article is now the name of your band. Next, go here: http://www.quotationspage.com/random.php3 Go to the bottom of the page. The last four to five words of the last quote are the title of your first album Lastly, go here: http://www.flickr.com/explore/interesting/7days Select the 3rd image. It is the picture for your album cover. Manipulate the picture, resize it, add some other color, whatever. Do the same with the band name and album title, put them over top. However you wanna do it. Make it look cool.

The Process:

So first, as I was told, I went to the three sites to get my band name, my album name and my album image. My band name turned out to be Cosmonaut, my album name is The object that provoked it and my image was: le ombre del giorno che muore! – ***explore!!***, by erman_53fotoclik.

When I got my image, I went to an image editor site called Picnik. I uploaded my picture and cropped it to a reasonable size.

Then I put an effect on the picture called “Lomo-ish”.

Then I inserted my band name after I chose a font that suits the name Cosmonaut.

Finally for the title of the album, I wanted to play it up a bit so I let the name scatter on the image; like so.

The Story:

By doing this assignment, I was able to use Picnik and lean a little about it from my friend. First I thought it was going to be a complicated process however, at the end, I had a fun time making this album cover. I was planning on naming some of the tracks in the album but I couldn’t think of any good ones so I didn’t.

Well, here’s my finished album cover!! 🙂

 

This entry was published on January 27, 2012 at 6:42 am. It’s filed under ds106 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Cosmonaut

  1. tkko12 on said:

    Cool image!!
    This assignment seems fun. I might do it sometime 🙂

  2. Great assignment! I love the font you chose for “Cosmonaut,” this has a very late 90’s indie rock band feel.

  3. Thanks for the tutorial! that is really helpful, and i may just do the same one!

  4. Pingback: An Album Cover | tkko12

  5. I love the way you pulled this one together. I wasn’t even aware of this assignment until I noticed another student had done it recently.

    Your tutorial is clear and will be very useful. It’s just too bad that they will be closing PicNik in a few months. Still, I think you should include the appropriate tutorial tag for this assignment. That way, it will show up as a tutorial when people visit the assignment page in the future.

Leave a Reply

