About the Internet…and a little bit about me :)

Hello šŸ™‚

Since this is my first blog post, let me tell you guys a bit about myself šŸ˜€

My name is Kristie Masuyama. I was born in Los Angeles, California but brought back to Japan when I was 1 and a half years old. I went to Seisen International School for 15 years since KGĀ  and it’s my second semester here at TUJ. I joined this class because my friends were going to as well, and I thought it would benefit me in terms of using the internet in the future when I work. But at the same time, I don’t really know much about all this so I’m really worried if I’ll do good in this class or not. šŸ˜¦

As far as I remember, we had 1 computer per class in KG and I remember drawing and doing math on the computers during free time. I think it was when I was in 1st grade when I really used the internet to research about things for projects and assignments; although this was with the help of my dad. So I guess it was when I was in 5th grade when I actually understood what I was doing on the computer and the internet. However, as I grew older, the internet became something that was so important to me to a point where during my high school times, I couldn’t live without it. The existance of Myspace, Facebook, Youtube, Google, Wikipedia, and Twitter made my life a lot easier in terms of keeping in touch with friends, fashion trends and music.

Although the internet is a great way to keep in touch with friends, I came to realize recently that having a Facebook account lets the whole world (all your “Friends” on Facebook) know all about you that you, or your friends, put on your page. From your relationship status, your daily life, everything!! It was just recently that I have drifted away from Facebook and moved to Twitter due to the open-ness Facebook has. Sometimes there are things you don’t want your whole list of “Friends” on Facebook to know…especially because I have friends who I don’t talk much to in person but I somehow have them in my “Friends” list.

Other than that though, the internet is a great way to keep in touch with friends all over the world. Since it’s my first year into college, it was overwhelming to know that my high school friends are out of Tokyo. However, with the help of the internet, keeping in touch became a lot easier. Just thinking of having to write a letter and having to wait months for the reply…I’m impressed that people who didn’t have the internet mannaged with such a system!!

This entry was published on January 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm and is filed under Blog Post. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “About the Internet…and a little bit about me :)

  1. Yeah, I can’t say I’m a huge Facebook user anymore. I realized that I don’t care as much about my friends’ lives as much as maybe I should hahaha

  2. I enjoyed reading your introductory post Kristie. I don’t think you are the only student here who finds most of this stuff to be unfamiliar. I think if you keep a positive attitude and seriously engage with the process of thinking about how society has been and continues to be shaped by the developments in cyberspace you will do fine.

    It seems that you’ve already been thinking about such matters based on your concerns about The Facebook.

    An important thing for me is that I enjoy myself and try to have a good time. So far, this class has been a blast for me. Hopefully, you’ll come to feel the same way before too long.

    I’m looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

